Reworking It!

Well I just completed my first recycled project. Although I thought my mini me was going to be able to help me, she couldn’t suck it in enough to get the  waist fastened.

This project started with a pair of cream capris that had been used to the full and a printed skirt that although I like the print I really didn’t like the fit. I’d been telling myself for years . . . and I do mean years . . . to get rid of them both, it’s a good thing they ended up in the Goodwill bags that made their way into the garage.

image

I decided to dye the cream a nice grey using Pantone’s 2015 color titanium and Ritdye color matching chart.

image

I haven’t really been able to get into the maxi trend, but I do like the high low look . . . I loved that look back in high school, and this is one trend that I’m glad to see come back around.

image

For the hem on both the skirt and lining I decided to work with a few features on my serger and machine. For the skirt I used the roll hem feature on my serger.  I hadn’t used this in years so I had to pull out the instruction booklet.

image

Rolled hem

And for the lining I used a hemmer foot that has to this point gotten very little use.

image

This skirt will probably get a workout this spring and summer.

image

Off to the next project!

Categories: Sewing | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Reworking It!

  1. CH&CO

    I love the idea of making your own clothes for a year!

  2. This is great! We love seeing creative posts like these were a new outfit is made from dye and old clothes. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Sassi

    I can’t wait to see you in it. The hi-lo look is HOTTT!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Wear the Ducky Tie

A Sewing Blog

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Tulle and Tweed

Aficionado of fashion and all things stitchery

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

sewmanju

A British blogger writing about sewing clothes, pattern reviews and DIY fashion.

Allene's Sewing Year Challenge

Challenge . . . to sew my clothing for the next 12 months!

Shawnta Sews

Sewing, cooking, and fashion...all in a days work!

Sown Brooklyn

Making shit and talking shit. Since 1979

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

